Pen Argyl is a small welcoming town that sits in the rural slate belt of Pennsylvania. Located between Wind Gap and Bangor on a hillside below Blue Mountain, the community originated in 1853 due to the presence of slate. Pen Argyl was once a prosperous community for European immigrants and factory workers. Before “everyone was laid off,” according to resident and barber John Cuono, there were factories and railroads all over town. People went by train to work on the railroads and in factories, and many others joined the Navy. Today, the Dally Quarry is the only remaining active quarry in the town. However, the community that came together to accept outsiders, raise each other’s children, provide food for those in need, and support each other throughout the years still remains. Pen Argyl is still a place that residents proudly call home. On a recent visit to Pen Argyl, we met some of the town legends, including John Marcon, the local shoemaker and shoe repair man; John Cuono, the owner of a small barber shop on West Main Street; and the hard working men and women at Mr. Pastie. Their stories, glimpsed here, recall just some of the people who grew up in the town and are continuing their families’ legacies through their hard work and enduring commitment to this place.